Nattuvangam – Grade I – Level 1

Price: 240 USD

Nattuvangam – Grade I – Level 1

Nattuvangam is the art of reciting the syllables and playing cymbals that follows the foot work of the dancer. Level 1 of Grade 1 Nattuvangam course comprises of a brief introduction to Nattuvangam; Understanding Thala system in Karnatic music – Paper 1; Maintaining the basic rhythm and reciting the syllables of Adavus – Part I in all 3 speeds; Coordinating the recitation of the syllables and playing the cymbals that follows the foot work in all 3 speeds; Reciting the syllables in different speeds and playing cymbals in different speeds; Making the Thala table.
In this course, students are provided with high quality step by step learning videos by watching which they learn the lessons and present it during one on one online class with the instructors. Audio downloads are provided to help the students in their practice.
This course is for:
  • A beginner student who wants to understand and learn well the art of reciting and playing cymbals
  • A dancer who wants to enhance their skills in Nattuvangam
  • A teacher who wants to study the art of Nattuvangam in depth.
The course duration is 8 weeks with 8 one to one online classes with the instructor. If the student wishes to extend the course, they can do it by paying extra fee for one to one classes. Contact for more details.
Before enrolling for the course, the students (13+years) & teachers are advised to send the video clipping of their practice or performance of a composition and singing of Alaripu for the review and understanding of students needs by the faculty. They could email the video link to
The course could be done with or without certification. The students who require certification for Grade1 should complete all 3 levels under Grade 1 and  take an assessment at the end of the course. Later, they could enroll for Nattuvangam Grade 2.
Objective of the main Nattuvangam course is to train the student in the art of playing cymbals, composing Jathis, understanding the thala system in Carnatic music and much more. There are totally 5 Grades in this course. Each Grade has 3 levels. At the end of each Grade, students will take up the assessments before moving to the next grade.
Sign In / Sign Up
For FREE TRIAL courses, please sign up before you start taking the course. Or you can login using the social options. If it is a paid course, you need to enroll.

Course Content

Lessons Status

Course Introduction


Time Plan


Theory - Downloads


Thattadavu 1 & 2


Thattadavu 3


Thattadavu 5


Thattadavu 6


Thattadavu 7


Thattadavu 8






Paraval Adavu, Peri Adavu




Sarukkal Adavu




Korvai Adavu


Paichal Adavu / Karthari Adavu


Ettadavu/Mandi Adavu


Bhramari Adavu / Nadai

Undergo a free trial session after going through the free videos specific to the course



1. Go through the content of the entire course & complete the modules which are open in the course you are interested in.

2. Subscribe to the course by clicking the enroll button.

3. Enjoy the best blended e-learning delivered in performing Arts and Wellness.

4. You could request for a free trial session before subscribing.